Section 8 Housing

apartment complex with trees in front on a sunny day

Section 8 housing (also called housing choice voucher) is a federal government program that helps low-income families, older adults, and people with disabilities afford housing. Vouchers are administered locally by public housing agencies.  

Who is eligible for housing choice vouchers?  

Eligibility is determined by your local public housing agency. Your family’s income must be 50% or less of the median income for your county. Public housing agencies are required to distribute 75% of vouchers to applicants whose income is less than 30% of the median county income.  

How can I apply?  

Contact your local public housing agency. Many agencies have extensive waiting lists.  

Where can I live with a housing choice voucher?  

If you are selected to participate in the program, you can choose your own housing option that meets the requirements of your local public housing agency. Once you have reached an agreement with the landlord, the public housing agency will inspect the unit and either accept or deny the request.  

How much rent will I be required to pay?  

Your local public housing agency will determine a payment standard, which is the average amount needed in the local housing market. This is used to calculate the amount of housing assistance a participant will receive.  

You will be required to spend 30% of your monthly income on rent and utilities. If your rent is greater than the payment standard, you will be required to pay the extra amount.  

Need more information?  

Visit to read more about housing choice vouchers or call 2-1-1 to speak with a call specialist who may be able to provide support. 

Last updated 7/28/2022

Return to Blog